Glacier Express


Home > Menü > Reiseplanung > Strecke

The route of the Glacier Express

A panoramic experience

The route takes you through the three cantons of Valais, Uri and Graubünden, and offers breathtaking and varied panoramic views. Eight hours of sheer pleasure for your eyes and your palate, too. 

The Matterhorn, the Oberalp Pass and the Grand Canyon – all on one route!

Your ride on the Glacier Express begins either in Zermatt, at the foot of the Matterhorn, or in elegant St. Moritz. Over approximately eight hours, the route takes you across 291 bridges, through 91 tunnels and over the Oberalp Pass, at 2033 metres above sea level. 

Natural spectacles and other highlights along the route

  • St. Moritz, the most elegant holiday resort in Switzerland
  • The alpine village of Zermatt with breathtaking views of the Matterhorn
  • The Albula Line with the Solis and Landwasser viaducts and spiral tunnels
  • The Rhine Gorge, the "Grand Canyon of Switzerland"
  • Oberalp Pass

Stops on the Glacier Express route

Zermatt, Brig, Fiesch, Andermatt, Disentis/Mustér, Chur, Thusis, Tiefencastel, Filisur, Davos Platz, Bergün, Samedan, Celerina, St. Moritz 


Would you like to book directly or do you need more information? We would be pleased to advise you personally on +41 (0) 848 642 442 or by e-mail at 


Our opening hours

Monday to Friday: 7:00 am – 7:00 pm

Saturday and Sunday: 8:00 am – 2:00 pm


Closed on public holidays.  



Details about your ride on the Glacier Express

Travel dates:

Winter timetable: 11.12.2016 – 12.05.2017

Summer timetable: 13.05.2017 – 22.10.2017


Booking: Early booking is recommended. If you have any questions, please contact our Rail Center on tel. no +41 (0)848 642 442 or by email to